Sunday, August 8, 2010

SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After much of last summer and this one spent on trying, Emma has finally learned how to ride her bike!

And of course, in true Emma fashion, we will now hear about her accomplishment for the next six weeks - unless something else major and exciting happens to take her mind off of it.

She is so proud of herself. And so am I.


Saturday, July 17, 2010

Getting Ready

So, we are getting the house ready to sell. At least, we hope it will sell. That is the point of this whole excursion. After a lot of discussion, we decided it was best to move. We have loved our little home here. We have put a lot of time, money, blood, sweat, tears, money, money & money into this place. I think it has been a wonderful home and we have many memories to take with us from here. However, there comes a time when the home speaks to you and says "Get the hell out of here and take your unruly brood with you!".

We've passed that time.

I mean, shouldn't someone else get the benefit of our dogs barking and kids screaming? These neighbors here, it's old news to them. They probably don't even notice their talents anymore. Their efforts to disturb the peace  are going unappreciated.

So, we have a task list up on the refrigerator. We are behind already.

Who knew that such a small and seemingly easy list of things to do would grow into a massive mountain.

It doesn't help that we added a few extra fun projects just for the heck of it. Like, hey, why not rip up the carpet in Olivia's room to refinish the hardwood floors underneath? Who could have guessed that when the carpet was put in that the highly trained, very expensive installers left the old padding down. That padding decided it would be super cool to adhere itself to the floor, making what could have been an easy project a major pain in the ass. Olivia is currently bunking in Emma's room. They think it's pretty cool. The part of me that can't stand clutter and disorder does not find it so cool.

We are hoping to list the house by the beginning of August. If it doesn't sell, I guess we're stuck here for a little longer. The market is so crappy around here. Some houses sell quick, others languish forever. Plus, we're not going to take some low-ball offer. Do we want to move? Hell yes. Are we desperate? Well, sort of, but not really. 

Crossing fingers. Toes. Anything else. At some point we have to get lucky, right :)

Monday, July 12, 2010

Less Beating, More Loving

I've decided I need to love myself. 

I can't keep beating up on little old me because I don't do the things that I think I should do. Sure, I can procrastinate with the best of them. In fact, if there were a contest, I'm pretty sure I would win - so long as I can wait until the last minute to decide if I want to enter such a contest.

Anyhow, I keep thinking of a bazillion things that need to be done around here. And yet, when I can't get all of them done within minutes of thinking about them, I feel defeated. I get mad at myself for my lack of accomplishment, rather than praising myself for what I did get done. It's that whole positive re-enforcement thing that I'm lacking right now. I'd rather tell myself I failed. I'm sure there's a couch moment in there somewhere.

The girls are still loving their summer. The 4th of July was a huge hit. Olivia slept through the fireworks at Greenfield Village - which is tragic as they were splendid. She was awake to listen to the Detroit Symphony, which she rather enjoyed. 

We have taken on the not-so-easy task of readying our home for sale. The market still sucks around here, but houses have sold. We are cautiously optimistic about being able to sell. If we don't,  we'll be disappointed, but will survive. We are looking for a change of scenery - hopefully we can get it. 

So, aside from all the painting and minor fix-its, we thought it would be a glorious idea to rip out the carpet in Olivia's room yesterday. Beautiful hardwood floors await us underneath. But of course, nothing in this house is simple. Under the carpet and padding, was another layer of padding that was kind of adhered to the floor. We spent a good chunk of time scraping all the junk off the floor. Can't say it looks great yet, but it's a start. Refinishing should only be a scant 6-12 weeks away!


Monday, June 21, 2010

recap of life

So much has been going on, again. I sometimes feel like everything is spinning out of control around me. Something eventually snaps me into reality and I try to take stock of where we are in life. In addition to the drama we have been enduring for the last few years (thanks to an un-named relative) we have recently had car drama, house drama, child drama, work drama, etc. I think drama is lurking around every corner these days. You may not recognize it at first, because it has become quite crafty at disguising itself. That's how it lures you in. It can spot a sucker a mile away. 

So, in an attempt to have some fun and escape everything for a little while, we decided to plan a fun weekend. On Saturday, we were going to meet up with my dad & mom for a little bit of time at Greenfield Village. The girls were so looking forward to hanging out with grandma & grandpa - and so was I. They are very stabilizing. 

We did a quick walk through the village - because it isn't a visit unless we hit the carousel.



And then sought refuge inside the museum for some ice cream and fun. There is a super cool exhibit there called 'Play'. Who wouldn't want to play a life-sized game of pool?


We were team 'popsicle' - comprised of the six of us and another family of three. It was a blast. Everyone should do it!


Next on our agenda was a Tiger's game. However, fate stepped in and detoured us. The second the car doors shut, the girls morphed into possessed little people. You would think they had been caged in the hot sun, with no food or water, being poked with sticks all day. A complete meltdown occurred and we decided instead of blessing everyone at the stadium with their pleasant nature (and testing what little sanity we have left) we would head home. So ended our Saturday.

Father's Day - new day. New plans. New attitudes (please!!).

Toy Story 3 was in our sights. A quick trip to the grocery store and we were off to the movies. BEST MOVIE EVER!!! I think it was the best in the series. Kids loved it. We loved it. All smiles!

Dinner at Zazio's - definitely more for us, but we were determined to have a nice dinner. The kids tried to behave, but it was a struggle. It's a good thing the dinning room wasn't too packed. And we had made a 5:30 reservation in hopes of avoiding any major issues. Wonderful food, as always. Three desserts came home with us. 

All and all, a decent weekend. A couple of rough patches, but that is to be expected. There have been so many changes going on around here lately. I'm trying to stay focused. Happy. Sane (that one's a stretch some days). But, when you see this face, how can you not be happy?


Friday, June 11, 2010

Moving Up

The last day of school was finally upon us. After months of learning, living and being stalked by a fellow classmate, Emma is officially done with first grade. She now has the summer to ponder her life as a second grader. At first she wasn't thrilled with first grade coming to an end. But this morning, as she walked to her classroom for the last time, her second grade teacher said 'Hi Emma', and she was on cloud nine. 

"She knows my name!!!"

Instant joy. Elation carried her the rest of the way and deposited her in her chair. 

 I can't believe school is finally over and she is moving on to second grade. Before I know it she'll be seven. Then she'll be driving. Lord, this life is passing me by.


Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Weathering the Storm

We had some major weather this weekend. Saturday night was full of wind, rain and damage. I was going to head off to bed around 11ish, but it wasn't meant to be. Right around then is when things started picking up. Jason went outside to assess the incoming weather. Because, you know, he is a trained meteorologist. With all his years of camping, twenty years ago. He is skilled in the trade.

I watched the news reports repeat the same information every couple of minutes. It was quite obvious given the red, green & yellow on the radar that something was brewing. We heard one siren. No big deal. Figured it was just for the storm. Kept watching TV. Then the satellite went out - big surprise. Enter the iPhone - best little trooper ever. Could pick up radio reports and watch the radar via The Weather Channel app. So with the times we are. 

Then, the tornado siren went off. Midnight. Girls are soundly sleeping, oblivious to all that is rumbling around. Jason, who never wants to 'take shelter', announced we were going to the basement. Yippee! I scooped up a sleeping Olivia while he wrangled Emma. Armed with children, we headed down. Dogs trooped on as well and two cats followed. We lit candles and hung out. Olivia woke up to a groggy state of contempt. Thankfully, that gave way to a little a slightly improved mood.


Emma made herself cozy and settled in - questioning if we were going to camp out downstairs. And, why weren't all of the cats down there with us? Were the dogs going to stay with us? Why were they down there and not all the cats? Why is it raining? Why are we down in the basement? I don't think she stopped asking questions.


After it seemed like the worst was over, we emerged from the basement. Tired and a little bleary eyed, we all shuffled off to bed. Upon waking in the morning, we were greeted with minor damage right around us. However, just a mile away, a church lost its roof. The elementary school's sign was obliterated. Massive trees were lifted out of the ground. Branches were scattered all around. It was amazing. We felt very lucky and thanked our lucky stars that we were spared.

Saturday, June 5, 2010

What's Ahead

There have been many changes swirling around our household lately. A lot of 'family drama' has hit an all time high and has pushed us into a new realm of thinking. For quite some time now, we have been (way too) involved in some family stuff. Stuff - the best word I can come up with right now. Hey, it's 5:30 am on a freakin' Saturday morning and I am up instead of being half asleep in bed. Beggars can't be choosers. 

Anyhow, our family is making some changes. We have recognized the importance of focusing on us - just the four of us. It seems like we became lost in other people's lives and issues and forgot that the four of us are a family unit. Our choices and decisions need to reflect the best of us - the four of us. So, there is a new perspective and focus now in our home. Spending quality time together. Not involving drama created by others, cause Lord knows we can certainly create our own. I mean  come on, Em + Liv = more drama than any adult can dream of.

Here's to a new outlook. Fresh perspective. Change. Happiness. Drama-free living (as best we can). And most of all, good times together.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Absent

I had this whole post about the past weekend just about ready to go. Then, I had to leave to drop the girls off at school and Jason off at work - still functioning as a one car family. Not as much fun as I thought it might be. But, it's almost over and I am grateful for our friend Jimmy who is bringing the 'blue car' back to life.

Anyhow, when I returned from my chauffeuring duties, I sat back down to finish the post and I just froze. I was stuck and couldn't move forward with it. Whatever direction I may have been heading with my post was lost. Forever stuck in some limbo state. Never to be remembered. I was mad. I thought it was going to be so good. Well spoken. Aptly described. Dotted with pictures. 

Not going to happen. It sits in my drafts, lonely and half-done. And there it will sit, collecting dust until someday when maybe I will remember how I was going to finish it so that it satisfied my loose yet harsh standards. 

This is what happens when I get distracted. My brain runs amuck and nothing is safe. Even something as simple as laying out the past weekends adventures. Maybe this weekend will be better for me. Three days off. A volunteer plant sale (more on that later). And some much needed time with the girls and Jason. Let's see how it goes. 

(one picture from the weekend - outside the nifty Cable Car restaurant we dined at)

Monday, May 17, 2010

Movie Night

I declared pizza and movie night Friday. Jason had to work late so it was just the girls and I. Much to their disappointment, I might add. Well, that quickly flew out the window as soon as I suggested going to the video store (yes, they still exist!) and picking out some entertainment. Scooping up some pizza was icing on the cake! 

We cruised the kids movies and settled on three suitable, never before watched flicks. I then proceeded to look for some movies more to my liking and I hit pay dirt. It's been a while since I have actually gone to look for a movie to watch. I just kept grabbing the cases off of the shelves. I managed to stop myself once I reached 'H' and realized that I already had five and was reaching for another. 

How sad, I thought. It's really been a while since I've watched a movie. The last movie I actually went to the theater to watch was The Princess and the Frog - great kids movie, but come on, that's kinda sad.

Anyhow, great success! Bath's were given without much complaining. Perhaps it's because I dangled another movie like a carrot in front of them. Well, I suppose the promise of cookies and milk probably helped too.

(Eating on the living room floor. They love it.)

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Washed Away

I feel like we live in Seattle right now. Freakin' rain has been ridiculous lately. If I hadn't butch-cut the back yard, much to Jason's dismay, it would look like a jungle right now. The grass and plants are so green right now that even on a gloomy MI afternoon, it was bright outside.

We have had to bail the pond out several times now. Poor fish were seeing their lives flash before their eyes. Over and over again. 

Even the puppies didn't want to go outside this morning. And they'll go out no matter what. Rain. Snow. Sleet. Freezing. Hotter than a frying pan. They aren't picky. Except for this morning. I guess if I were faced with the prospect of getting drenched and blown over while I was trying to pee I might think about it too.

Weather should be turning around. It better. I am tired of the doom and gloom MI spring. 

Slow news day - posting about the weather...oh well. 

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Re-Birth

There comes a time in every car's life where it is old. Past its prime. Scrap. That time almost came for the 'blue' car. Our lovely Escape, with less than 50,000 miles on it and only five years old decided that its current engine just couldn't hack it anymore. When Jason turned the key on Monday morning to start it up, an unpleasant knocking noise was heard. Hoping for something simple to fix, it went to the dealer for a look-see. 

Later that day, Jason got the news - a new engine was needed. A rod had broken. Blah. Blah. Blah. $4-6k. Crazy laughter, muttering and cursing followed. That would have been from me, when he called to share the 'good' news. 

How the hell does that happen?!?!?! How does a car, that we only ask to drive approximately 50-70 miles a week crap out like that? It's not old. It is well loved, cared for. It has a nice garage to hang out in. A van to converse with overnight. What the heck else does it need?

After much soul searching, research and more swearing (me again) we made a decision. One of the perks of Jason's job is meeting all sorts of people with different talents. One of those such people, Jimmy, offered to try and find an engine. With a more reasonable install charge, he said he could replace it. THANK YOU JIMMY!!!!! We will certainly owe you big time! 

So, sorry dealer, you're not getting us to bend over on this one. You should be ashamed of yourselves! Charging almost double the cost of the actual engine in labor. Do you really think we are that stupid? I wonder what they would have said the cost would have been had I been the one to bring it in. What, take advantage of a woman? A car dealer? Never.

Now, we just have to wait patiently for about a week or so for Jimmy to complete the transplant. I think we can manage. 


Sunday, May 9, 2010

Happy Mother's Day!

To all the mom's out there - have a great day! 

Enjoy your kids.

Sleep in, if they'll let you. Mine didn't :)

Love your life.

Laugh.

Eat.

Love.


Tuesday, May 4, 2010

A new day

I woke up this morning slightly unsure of what day it was. As I searched my fuzzy brain for an answer, I looked over to my bed-mate, Olivia, to watch her sleep. She woke up crying last night around 2 am and I dragged my sleepy self into her room to quiet her. It took longer than usual - she was restless and couldn't seem to settle in. I had planned on sneaking out and getting back to my own bed, but I soon resolved myself to staying in her room. So glad we decided to get her a twin bed - makes it much more cozy to stay with her.

She slept so sweetly and soundly this morning. We had to wake her for breakfast, which was not on her agenda. It took some gentle persuading to get her to be one with the world, but she is happily (I think) settled at school for the morning. 

A beautiful day is on the horizon. I see some quality time spent outside on the the new-ish swing set.


Monday, May 3, 2010

Looking back in order to look ahead

I realized today just how off I have been. Looking back through my posts, I have missed a lot. Hardly any Christmas pictures. None of Olivia's birthday. No 'real' shots to speak of. What the heck have I been doing the last few months? Seriously. What gives me? 

It's time to make up for lost time and free my camera of pictures it has been choking on for months. I heard it in the drawer, yelling at me when I would walk by. Lazy bum. Old pictures rotting. Am I ever getting out of here? 

So, here are a few snapshots to catch up on the last few months. 

Christmas morning

Christmas Pancakes
Olivia's Birthday

Showing off new princess outfit

All princess-ed up

Emma 'trying' out her new roller blades
My mess yesterday

The kids cleaning it up :)

Friday, April 30, 2010

Pledge

My poor little suffering blog. Your cobwebs are numerous and quite intriguing. I am going to do some belated spring cleaning and get you back into action.

I pledge to no longer neglect you and leave you for dead. You deserve attention and information and photos galore. You deserve to have someone read you and hopefully find some humor in our lives. 

So, I will attempt to start fresh on Monday. This weekend is already shaping up to with lots of photo-ops. Until then...



Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Apologies

Dear Self,

So sorry to be so absent these days. Your time seems to be taken up with so many things right now. Even though your little blog is suffering, keep in mind that it will always be there to return to. It misses you and your attention, but knows you'll be back. 
Enjoy your St. Patrick's day and who knows, maybe next week will be better.
Love, 
Me





Monday, February 22, 2010

Sorry, dear blog

Neglect has certainly set in. Busy days. Busy nights. Lack of motivation to download pictures. Not sure of things these days. Oh well. 

Another snow day for Em. She is thrilled. Me, not so much. Can't wait to drive into work today. Crossing fingers I can get there.

Hoping to get my head screwed back on so that I can pick back up on my wee blog. I miss it. And I hope that it misses me.

Friday, January 29, 2010

'A Good Grief'

Just discovered.....


New site....




Monday, January 25, 2010

Happy Birthday Olivia!!



My baby is three today. I can hardly believe it. As I sit here, next to her watching Peter Pan, I just can't believe my eyes. Such a big girl now. Before I know it she won't need me that much any more. That time is quickly escaping from me.

I took the day off of work and we set out this morning with some birthday fun in mind. Off to Build a Bear we went to create a furry friend. Then, it was off to Chuck E Cheese to partake in games and pizza. To top things off, a stop at Coldstone Creamery. Some of us napped on the way home.

We will be dining on chicken nuggets and tater tots tonight - what a feast! A cake from Coldstone Creamery will cap off the evening.

My girls are so big now. I feel the itch for another baby. Crazy as it sounds, I just can't shake that little voice from my head that whispers 'just one more'.


Monday, January 18, 2010

It's not where your hands are, it's where your head is....

So, I DVR Oprah every day. Some days I watch, some days I don't. Today, I watched. And I'm glad I did.

Today's show had to do with distracted driving. More specifically, texting or talking on your cell phone while driving. We ALL do it. No one ever thinks anything of it. Except for the guests on the show today. Lives cut short, because of someone else's conversation or text. A little girl riding her bike home. Two father's driving to work.

It's hard to say what was most disturbing to watch. The relatives filled with grief. The young man who killed two people and has to carry that for the rest of his life. The footage of a crash involving a semi and a school bus filled with children. All of it avoidable. If people would just pay attention to what they are doing.

One woman said it all. "It's not where your hands are, it's where your head is". Hands free driving isn't always the answer - your attention is still pulled away from the only place it should be focused, the road.

Is that phone call worth someone else's life? Is that text going to truly change your life? It very well could, but not in a way that you could ever imagine. I don't know how I could live myself if I ever hurt someone because I thought that sending a text while I was driving was more important than their lives.

It's as simple as this. DON'T DO IT.


Go here. Sign it. Stick to it. 

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Craziness

I can't believe that it's been a couple of weeks since I last posted. It has been busy around here and I have lost track of time. With everyone running the course of a cold, lovingly passed along the family chain, things were ugly for a little while. Then, one day, we were like 'oh, it's January. Olivia will turn three soon. Guess we should figure out what to do for that'. Then we got invited to a baby shower on the same weekend we were going to celebrate joint birthdays with Olivia and her cousin Caroline - who happens to be two days older. Then we had to re-configure the weekend.

Ok, so it doesn't sound like a lot. But, when everyone is sick and nothing gets done - like laundry, dishes, etc. - there is a mass backlog of chores and fun stuff to do around here. I think we finally crawled out from underneath it all and have emerged somewhat healthy and happy to have it behind us.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Movie Review



 The girls have been cooped up most of the week. Cabin fever had set in. There was no way we were going to just sit around with them on New Year's Day.

So, there was a decision to be made. Chuck E Cheese or a movie. Movie (thankfully) won out. It helped that we didn't leave it up to the girls. Didn't even tell them what we were doing until we were eating lunch. They thought we had just wandered over to the mall to go to the bookstore and eat.

Thank you Disney for providing the movie. The Princess and the Frog was a big hit. It was Olivia's first venture to the movie theater. She was glued to the screen the whole time. The volume bothered her a little, but unless you're deaf, it should bother you.

The movie was great. A throw back to some of my favorite Disney flicks. I really enjoyed it. And from a kid vantage, it rocked.

Successful celebration of the new year complete. We rang it in with some pizza and a Red Wings game (on tv unfortunately). A great game. A much needed win.

I was all set to head off to bed before the new year visited us, but Olivia woke up a little cranky and sick. So, the new year greeted us with an episode of Blue's Clue's. Can't beat that.

To a great new year.