Saturday, July 17, 2010

Getting Ready

So, we are getting the house ready to sell. At least, we hope it will sell. That is the point of this whole excursion. After a lot of discussion, we decided it was best to move. We have loved our little home here. We have put a lot of time, money, blood, sweat, tears, money, money & money into this place. I think it has been a wonderful home and we have many memories to take with us from here. However, there comes a time when the home speaks to you and says "Get the hell out of here and take your unruly brood with you!".

We've passed that time.

I mean, shouldn't someone else get the benefit of our dogs barking and kids screaming? These neighbors here, it's old news to them. They probably don't even notice their talents anymore. Their efforts to disturb the peace  are going unappreciated.

So, we have a task list up on the refrigerator. We are behind already.

Who knew that such a small and seemingly easy list of things to do would grow into a massive mountain.

It doesn't help that we added a few extra fun projects just for the heck of it. Like, hey, why not rip up the carpet in Olivia's room to refinish the hardwood floors underneath? Who could have guessed that when the carpet was put in that the highly trained, very expensive installers left the old padding down. That padding decided it would be super cool to adhere itself to the floor, making what could have been an easy project a major pain in the ass. Olivia is currently bunking in Emma's room. They think it's pretty cool. The part of me that can't stand clutter and disorder does not find it so cool.

We are hoping to list the house by the beginning of August. If it doesn't sell, I guess we're stuck here for a little longer. The market is so crappy around here. Some houses sell quick, others languish forever. Plus, we're not going to take some low-ball offer. Do we want to move? Hell yes. Are we desperate? Well, sort of, but not really. 

Crossing fingers. Toes. Anything else. At some point we have to get lucky, right :)

Monday, July 12, 2010

Less Beating, More Loving

I've decided I need to love myself. 

I can't keep beating up on little old me because I don't do the things that I think I should do. Sure, I can procrastinate with the best of them. In fact, if there were a contest, I'm pretty sure I would win - so long as I can wait until the last minute to decide if I want to enter such a contest.

Anyhow, I keep thinking of a bazillion things that need to be done around here. And yet, when I can't get all of them done within minutes of thinking about them, I feel defeated. I get mad at myself for my lack of accomplishment, rather than praising myself for what I did get done. It's that whole positive re-enforcement thing that I'm lacking right now. I'd rather tell myself I failed. I'm sure there's a couch moment in there somewhere.

The girls are still loving their summer. The 4th of July was a huge hit. Olivia slept through the fireworks at Greenfield Village - which is tragic as they were splendid. She was awake to listen to the Detroit Symphony, which she rather enjoyed. 

We have taken on the not-so-easy task of readying our home for sale. The market still sucks around here, but houses have sold. We are cautiously optimistic about being able to sell. If we don't,  we'll be disappointed, but will survive. We are looking for a change of scenery - hopefully we can get it. 

So, aside from all the painting and minor fix-its, we thought it would be a glorious idea to rip out the carpet in Olivia's room yesterday. Beautiful hardwood floors await us underneath. But of course, nothing in this house is simple. Under the carpet and padding, was another layer of padding that was kind of adhered to the floor. We spent a good chunk of time scraping all the junk off the floor. Can't say it looks great yet, but it's a start. Refinishing should only be a scant 6-12 weeks away!