Look what found us this weekend.
On Friday, this little guy came around here and decided to call this his home for a little while. He wandered up to the deck and begged to come in the fenced area. I figured I would just to keep him from getting run over. Big mistake. Once he was inside the fence, he didn't want to go anywhere else.
It was too late to call the Humane Society and Olivia was asleep so I couldn't get him to our vet to scan him for a chip. Didn't seem to bother him at all. He just made himself at home. He didn't bother the cats. He sniffed the dogs with minor interest. He followed myself and the girls around constantly.
After checking with a few neighbors, I tried the MIL since she knows more people around here. She suggested her vet since they are open later. Jason was on his way home so I waited for him. We all piled into the car with mystery dog to head off to the vet in hopes of finding his owner.
No such luck. No chip found. Emma was thrilled - she wanted to keep him. I tried my best to explain why that wouldn't be nice of us to do but for a five-year old, it all fell on deaf ears.
Home he came, to spend the night. We figured we'd try the Humane Society in the morning and a couple of the local vets and pound to see if anyone had reported him missing.
Since we had some time Saturday morning, we were going to run a few errands and then come home to make our calls. As we rounded the corner, we saw a flyer tacked to the telephone pole with his little mug on it. Jason pulled over, retrieved the flyer and we had confirmation - he had a home.
Simba was his name and he lived down a ways on the MIL's street. I called the number and let the woman know who answered that we had found her little run away and told her we'd bring him right over.
After chatting for a little while, we left Simba behind at his rightful home.
Emma was not happy.
She was crying. She couldn't understand why we couldn't keep him. Trying our best, and failing miserably, we told her why he wasn't ours. Tough lesson for a little person to grasp, but it is what it is.
We had fun with Simba while he was here. He was very sweet. Very much like our little man, Rufus. He wanted to be close. He was a follower, a shadow almost. I wish Em hadn't gotten so attached so quickly, but that happens with more than just pets these days. I think it must be part of the five-year old makeup. Everything is her favorite or her 'I really want this'. I can't believe she keeps trying, seeing as if her tactics never actually produce results, other than her getting in trouble. I guess she's just hoping for a lapse in judgement on my part. Long wait for that.
*********************************************************As a side note, my Red Wings dropped the ball big time and handed Stanley over to the freakin' Penguins. It sucked. That series could have and should have gone our way. With a combination of horrendous (read blind) refs, our poor play at times and the Pens grit, we were overtaken. I wish there was some clear answer to why we lost, but I can't say. We were outplayed at times. The NBC announcers, by the way, can suck it too.
I sure loved listening to them slather on the love for the Pens and then hear them talk about how old and slow the Wings were. Pens this. Pens that. Why not just take them to a motel already! It was annoying and equally insulting to listen to them babble on with a clear favorite in mind. So much for being an imparital jury. It's not like when I watch FSD - I expect Ken & Mickey to be slightly favoring the Wings - they do, after all, announce their games.
I suppose at least I have next season to look forward to. October can't come soon enough.