Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Jaded

After reading a fellow bloggers description of her latest child's birth, I have to allow myself to stop and think. Have I become so completely jaded that I can't be happy for someone else who can 'make it happen'? She, like me, used to subscribe to the belief that all of those water-birthin'-momma's were crazy hippies. People who had obviously spent too much time in the sun and not enough time in reality. Then, she read some book, which I will not speak of, that changed her mind.

Now, I applaud people who can do the whole natural birth thing. No pain meds. No hospital. Sounds like a party to me. And then I think, are these people just rebelling 'against the man'? A lot of it comes from these people who write books about statistics relating to births and the amount of 'unnecessary' c-sections, usage of drugs, etc. To them I say, bravo. Good for you. It must be nice to be so blissfully unaware of what can happen if things don't go as you have scripted.

I think it's the people who get all hung up on their 'perfect day' that really get to me. Just because you have it all planned out to when you'll start pushing to the magical moment of pulling your baby out from the bathtub doesn't mean it will go that smoothly. It's like watching those shows where people start sobbing because they have to change their plans. They're probably the same people who spent tens of thousands of dollars on their wedding to make it the most perfect memory and experience for everyone who attended.

I must be in the minority who thinks otherwise. I want a healthy baby that I can create memories with for years to come. Will I remember their birth's for years to come - yes. Is it the most important memory I will have of them - no.

When I got married, did I spend a shit ton of money to make everyone happy and create some magical photo op? Hell no. The years that follow are more important to me. Making a spectacle out of one day seems so pointless to me. Talk all you want about it being some special day to show people how much you love each other - people really need to see that? So, how much money you spend on your wedding is related to how much you love each other? Seems a little skewed to me.

Jaded, yes I am. Can I accept other people's way of life, of course I can. I personally don't care what other people do as long as it isn't directly harmful to others. I just have strong feelings about certain things. One happens to be giving birth. I guess if I had never lost a child I might feel differently. What a world that would be.